

## **Texas Conservative Coalition**

February 4, 2008

Amadeo Saenz, Jr. Executive Director Texas Department of Transportation 125 E. 11<sup>th</sup> Street Austin, Texas 78701-2483

## Director Saenz:

We are very concerned about the current status of transportation policy in Texas, particularly regarding toll roads. We are for a transportation system that keeps pace with the state's growing population and economy, while respecting private property rights.

Because of the public debate on the issue, we would like clarity on what TxDOT's policies are regarding toll roads. Since the Legislature approved the Trans-Texas Corridor in 2003, there has been a great deal of public concern about the implementation and policies TxDOT has adopted.

As TxDOT develops future transportation plans, we want to be sure that any proposals pursued by the agency will strictly enforce and commit to:

- 1. Tolling on new capacity only no tolling of existing roads or if existing roads must be tolled for safety purposes then you will build the same amount of "notoll" roads adjacent to the tolled roads.
- 2. There should be no foreign ownership of our Texas highways roads must be owned by Texans.
- 3. New highways must use existing easements and rights of way when possible.
- 4. New roads in rural areas must guarantee to landowners full access to their property after construction of new roads.
- 5. The toll rate charged on any toll road in Texas must be approved by TxDOT. The Department shall coordinate the toll rates and any increase in toll rates with the local transportation planning organization.

We request, in writing, the Texas Department of Transportation's commitment to these five items.

We would appreciate a timely response to our request as transportation is vital to a vibrant and prosperous Texas.

Sincerely,

Wayne Christian House District 9

Ken Payton

Ken Paxton House District 70

L'eo Berman House District 6

Deanie Dr. Thomison

Geanie Morrison House District 30

Warren Chisum
House District 88

Corbin Van Arsdale House District 130

Bill Zedler

House District 96

Bryan Hughes House District 5 Phil King House District 61

Jodie Laubenberg House District 89

Betty Brown House District 4

Bill Callegari House District 132

Joe Crabb

House District 127

Charlie Howard House District 26

Thomas Latham House District 101

Charles "Doc" Anderson

House District 56

Sid Miller

House District 59

John Zerwas House District 28

Dwayne **B**ohac House District 138

Jim Murphy House District 133

Patricia Harless House District 126

Linda Harper-Brown House District 105

Dennis Bonnen House District 25

Rob Orr

House District 58

John Otto

House District 18

House District 86

Lois Kolkhorst House District 13

Jimmie Don Aycock House District 54

Frank Corte House District 122

Beverly Woolley House District 136

John Davis

House District 129

**David Swinford** House District 87

George "Buddy" West House District 81

Myra Crownover House District 64